Saturday, November 30, 2013

The Commercial Map of Constantinople

Over on the website, there is a new article posted titled "The Commercial Map of Constantinople." See more here!

Friday, November 29, 2013

Thirty-Six Stratagems

If you're looking for a way to flesh out a setting, take some inspiration from the "Thirty-Six Stratagems." Read more here!

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Icy Lighthouse Photos

Over on Cottage Life, there is a recent pictorial with lighthouses covered in ice.  See more here!

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Warp Drive Seems Possible

An article from last year on suggests that Warp Drive might be more likely than previously thought.  Read more here!

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Animated Animals with Human Skeletons

There is a cool video by Brian Andrews circulating of animated animals with human skeletons.  Enjoy!

Monday, November 25, 2013

Viking Raiding Gone Wrong

There is a new article on the website titled "Bones of the Vikings: when raiding goes wrong." See more here!

Sunday, November 24, 2013

Hild by Nicola Griffith - NPR Review

There is a review on the NPR website of a new historical fiction novel titled Hild by Nicola Griffith about a 7th Century women who became a saint.  Read more here!

Saturday, November 23, 2013

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library Additions

Earlier this month it was announced on that the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library has some additions to their collection. Read more here!

Friday, November 22, 2013

Medieval Archaeology

Even in Medieval Times, archaeology was happening, though sometimes by accident.  Read more on the website here!

Thursday, November 21, 2013

The Disturbing Origins of 10 Famous Fairy Tales

Earlier this month, over on, they posted an article titled "The Disturbing Origins of 10 Famous Fairy Tales." Read more here!

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

False Memories

Over on The Atlantic, there is an interesting article on false memories that might well feed a tabletop game scenario or two.  Maybe a series of them that are all about the same event but from different perspectives.  Read more here!

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Layers of History

A recent article on titled "Ancient City Discovered Beneath Biblical-Era Ruins in Israel" takes a look at the hidden depths of ruins.  See more here!

Monday, November 18, 2013

Oldest Death

The Telegraph recently ran an article titled "World's oldest creature was 507...but scientists killed it." Read more here!

Sunday, November 17, 2013

Mysterious Inverted Crater

According to, scientists in Irkutsk are puzzled by a massive, inverted crater.  Read more here!

Saturday, November 16, 2013

Two-Sword Grave

Diggers in Finland have discovered an unusual two-sword grave.  Read more here!

Friday, November 15, 2013

Flood Displaces Australian Spiders has a cool pictorial detailing what has happened to spiders and farms surrounding flooded river valleys in Australia.  See more here!

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Big History Project

If you are a tabletop game setting creator, check out the Big History Project for a bit of perspective.  See more here!

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Replica Tutankhamun Tomb

Tour the tomb's replica to protect the original, then map it out for a gaming scenario.  See more here!

Monday, November 11, 2013

Strange Animals

Some of the animals in the linked pictorial from have surfaced in other pictorials to which I have previously linked but this is a fine collection.  See more here!

Sunday, November 10, 2013

New Species or Sea Monster?

An interesting creature has been pulled from the South China Sea and it has folks puzzled.  See more here!

Saturday, November 9, 2013

The Vampire Connection of Père Lachaise Cemetery in Paris

There is a wonderful article on, telling of the vampiric connections of Paris and the infamous Père Lachaise Cemetery.  Read more here!

Friday, November 8, 2013

Box of Crazy

Over on, someone has posted images of a box and its contents that were purportedly found "by the trash."  The idea of it, in and of itself, is inspiration enough for a scenario or two for a tabletop RPG, but the contents holds so much more.  See more here!

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Medieval Microcredit

There is a new article up on the website titled "Medieval Microcredit? Pledging and Rural Credit in England During the Middle Ages." Read more here!

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

44 Coolest Tech Gadgets of 2013

Sometimes making a near-future setting isn't about thinking up a whole new way to handle tech, it's about taking what is simply new today and making it commonplace.  To that end, check out this article on titled "44 Coolest Tech Gadgets of 2013" here!

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Magnifying Contact Lenses

There's a new article over on titled "Telescopic Lenses Give You Superhero Vision." Read more here!

Monday, November 4, 2013

Designer of the Bayeux Tapestry Identified

Over on the website, there is a recent article putting forth a candidate as designer of the famous Bayeux Tapestry.  Read more here!

Sunday, November 3, 2013

1920s Mugshots

Over on, there is a new pictorial called "Police mugshots in the 1920s" that would make for some good villains and NPCs. See more here!

Saturday, November 2, 2013

Nov. 1st – Calan Gaeaf

The Reasons for the Season had an interesting post yesterday titled "Nov. 1st – Calan Gaeaf" about the first day of winter in Wales  Read more here!

Friday, November 1, 2013

Five Reasons why Mermaids Can’t Physically Exist

Over on the Deep Sea News website, they recently posted an article titled "Five Reasons why Mermaids Can’t Physically Exist." Read more here!