Sunday, June 30, 2013

The Dissection of a Behemoth

In Seventeenth Century Dublin, before and after its death, an elephant was a focus for the curiosity of many folk of all stations.  Read more here!


Saturday, June 29, 2013

Fainting Goats

Over on the National Geographic YouTube channel there is a recent video titled "Do "Fainting" Goats Really Faint?" Enjoy!


Friday, June 28, 2013

The Mysterious Voynich Manuscript

A manuscript written on Fifteenth Century parchment has long defied proper deciphering.  Read more about the mysterious Voynich Manuscript here!


Thursday, June 27, 2013

Florida Wasp Nest is Larger Than a Man

Over on the Wooden Pegg YouTube channel there is some fascinating video of a "Florida Wasp nest [that] is larger than man." Enjoy!


Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Megatherium Revealed

Over on the prehistoricanimal.blogspot.com website, there is a new article on the Megatherium. Read more here!


Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Monday, June 24, 2013

The Cat with Hands - A Short Film by Robert Morgan

I ran across a bizarre, short horror film that will certainly inspire some cool encounters for a tabletop RPG.  It is called The Cat with Hands.  Written directed, and animated by Robert Morgan in 2001, this wasn't his first effort nor his last, according to IMDb here, and he's got a YouTube channel with some of his other works available.  Enjoy!

Sunday, June 23, 2013

Dragon's Lair Thirtieth Anniversary

Last Thursday marked the thirtieth anniversary of the classic video arcade game, Dragon's Lair.  There's an excellent article on TraditionalAnimation.com, complete with concept art and more, marking the event.  Read more here!


Saturday, June 22, 2013

The Art of Jim Holloway for Sale

For those of you who are fans of the inspirational artwork of Jim Holloway, you can pick up some of his pieces for quite reasonable prices here!


Friday, June 21, 2013

Summer Solstice and Supermoon

Today is the Summer Solstice and if your campaign setting has similar cosmology to Earth, this is something worth building on for your own game world.  Also, there will be a Supermoon coming.  Read more here and here!


Thursday, June 20, 2013

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Bison and Her Calf Battle Wolves

Over on the Discovery Networks YouTube channel is a recently uploaded video titled "Bison and Her Calf Battle Wolves." Enjoy!


Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Baby Owl vs. Hawk Moth

There is a National Geographic video on their YouTube channel titled "Baby Owl vs. Hawk Moth." Enjoy!


Monday, June 17, 2013

Rindoon Deserted Medieval Town, County Roscommon

Over on the Time Travel Ireland blog, there is a new article titled "Rindoon Deserted Medieval Town, County Roscommon." Read more here!


Sunday, June 16, 2013

Shrew vs. Snake

Over on the National Geographic YouTube channel, there is a cool video titled "Shrew vs. Snake." Enjoy!


Saturday, June 15, 2013

Owl Dad Hunts to Feed Chicks

The National Geographic YouTube channel recently uploaded a video I though might make for a good Father's Day Eve post.  Enjoy!

Friday, June 14, 2013

Photographing the World's Biggest Shark

I video uploaded to the National Geographic YouTube channel discusses "Photographing the World's Biggest Shark." Enjoy!

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Raptor Gang Attacks Baby Seal

Over on the National Geographic YouTube channel is a video (with some shocking imagery) titled "Raptor Gang Attacks Baby Seal." The video is linked below.

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Lone Wolf Behavior

There is a fascinating article on the Psychology Today website regarding wolf behavior and the plight of a few individual wolves in particular.  Read more here!


Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Deck Plans for the Nautilus

Over on the vernianera.com website, are some excellent deck plans and commentary on Jules Verne's Nautilus. See and read more here!


Monday, June 10, 2013

Were the Middle Ages Dark? -- Prager University

The Prager University YouTube channel recently uploaded a video titled "Were the Middle Ages Dark?" Enjoy!


Sunday, June 9, 2013

Sturgeon as Living Fossils?

A new study from the University of Michigan questions the idea that sturgeon are living fossils.  Read more on ScienceDaily.com here (photo from gofishing.co.uk)!


Saturday, June 8, 2013

Ancient Roman and Medieval Architecture

There is a wonderful, recently-uploaded video on YouTube titled "Medieval Assisi and Roman Acropolis. Assisi medievale e Acropoli romana" showing Ancient Roman and Medieval architecture that intersperses  real footage with 3D modeling.  Enjoy!

Friday, June 7, 2013

Growth Rings

The growth rings of wood in Noway give details of a life worth noting.  Read more here!


Thursday, June 6, 2013

How to Survive a Rattlesnake Bite

National Geographic recently upload a video to their YouTube channel titled "How to Survive a Rattlesnake Bite." Enjoy!


Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Monday, June 3, 2013

10 Most Amazing Lost Cities

There is an old article on oddee.com that a Facebook buddy recently reminded me existed titled "10 Most Amazing Lost Cities." See more here!


Sunday, June 2, 2013

Neanderthals in Prehistoric Greece

Over on News.Discovery.com, there is an article discussing recent findings regarding "The Kalamakia Middle Paleolithic Cave site on the Mani peninsula of southern Greece" and its importance to Neanderthal populations. Read more here!


Saturday, June 1, 2013

The Narwhal's Mysterious Tusk

A recent upload to the National Geographic YouTube channel gives an excellent look at "The Narwhal's Mysterious Tusk." Enjoy!